5 1

The best electric scooter for under $2000. Segway GT1 Review

by Nathan Schaumann

The Segway GT1 is the best scooter we have reviewed for under $2000. It won’t win the top speed award or get the longest range compared to other $2000 electric scooters. However, the GT1 is easily the most refined and finely crafted scooter we have reviewed on the channel for under $2000.

In this review, I will tell you what I love and hate about the Segway GT1.

Click here for the current price on the Segway GT1.
Use coupon code: FreshlyGT to save $100.

What I love about the Segway GT1

  • Large deck
  • Adjustable hydraulic suspension
  • Innovative double wishbone suspension
  • PMT clone tires with a rounded profile
  • An App that can adjust many settings and securely lock it
  • Strong hydraulic brakes with thick brake discs
  • Hidden wires
  • Rigid steering pole design
  • Twist throttle
  • Adjustable regen braking
  • Bright turn signals
  • Perfect angle kick plate
  • A new reduced price of only $1899 with our coupon code
  • Aesthetically pleasing design.

Large Deck: The Segway GT1 boasts a generously sized deck, providing ample space for comfortable and secure riding. You’ll have the freedom to find your ideal stance without feeling cramped.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.11.42 AM

Adjustable Suspension: This scooter features adjustable suspension, allowing you to fine-tune your riding experience. Customize it based on your preferred riding style, terrain, or weight class for optimal comfort and stability.

The front suspension is also designed with a double wishbone which doesn’t flex when stopping or accelerating. The double wishbone suspension design is far superior to the C-type suspension we see with most electric scooters in the price point making it ultra stable at high speeds.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.09.57 AM

PMT Clone Tires with Rounded Profile: Equipped with PMT clone tires featuring a rounded profile, the GT1 offers excellent grip, control, and stability, ensuring a smooth and enjoyable ride.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.10.31 AM

Advanced App Integration: The Segway app elevates your riding experience with its ability to adjust numerous settings. Fine-tune your scooter’s performance, activate security features, and even lock it securely via the app.

Strong Hydraulic Brakes with Thick Brake Discs: Safety is paramount, and the GT1 delivers with its strong hydraulic brakes and thick brake discs. You’ll enjoy precise and efficient braking, enhancing your control over the scooter.

Combine the hydraulic brakes with grippy rubber tires and you can stop efficiently and safely.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.11.01 AM

Hidden Wires: The GT1 showcases a sleek and clutter-free design, thanks to its concealed wiring. This not only adds to the scooter’s aesthetics but also minimizes potential damage to exposed wires.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.07.42 AM

Rigid Steering Pole Design: The rigid steering pole design with zero stem wobble instills confidence that I won’t have to worry about the scooter failing when traveling at high speeds.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.09.26 AM 1

Twist Throttle: The motorcycle-style twist throttle provides a responsive and intuitive control experience. It allows for smooth acceleration with zero dead zone.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.28.53 AM

Adjustable Regenerative Braking: Customize your regenerative braking to suit your preferences. Whether you prefer a more aggressive or gentle regen, the GT1 lets you fine-tune this feature for a personalized ride.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.14.28 AM

Bright Turn Signals: Enhanced visibility is crucial for safety. The bright turn signals on the GT1 ensure that your intentions on the road are clear to other motorists, enhancing overall safety.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.12.18 AM

Perfect Angle Kick Plate: The GT1’s kick plate is thoughtfully designed with the perfect angle, ensuring comfortable foot positioning when going for long rides.

Reduced Price with Coupon Code: The Segway GT1 now comes with an enticing price point of only $1899 when using our exclusive coupon code: FreshlyGT. This affordability makes it an attractive option for budget-conscious riders looking for a refined ride.

Aesthetically Pleasing Design: With its sleek and visually appealing design, the GT1 stands out among electric scooters. It’s not just a mode of transportation; it’s a stylish statement on wheels.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.14.05 AM

Click here for the current price on the Segway GT1.
Use coupon code: FreshlyGT to save $100.

What I hate about the Segway GT1 electric scooter?

  • Single motor scooter
  • Only has a 20 amp hour battery
  • Will go into park mode after 5 seconds of idling
  • Segway customer service can be slow
  • Not the best hill climber
  • Not portable
  • Front facing light would be better if it had a wider spread
  • Would like it to go at least 40 mph

Single Motor Scooter: While the GT1 excels in many areas, it features a single motor, which limits it’s acceleration compared to other dual motor scooters in its price range.

20 Amp Hour Battery: The GT1 is equipped with a 20 Amp hour battery. The range is decent but it will not provide the same range as other scooters in its price range with larger batteries.

Park Mode After 5 Seconds of Idling: The scooter automatically enters park mode after 5 seconds of idling, which can be inconvenient for riders who frequently stop and start during their commutes.

You can prevent it from going into park mode if you hold down the brake lever but it is frustrating when stopping at traffic lights and you want to relax your hands.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.08.07 AM

Segway Customer Service Delays: Some users have reported delays in Segway’s customer service response times, which can be frustrating when seeking assistance or resolving issues.

Not the Best Hill Climber: While capable of handling hills, the GT1 will not perform as impressively on steep inclines compared to some other scooters in its price range with dual motors.

Not Portable: Portability can be a concern for some riders, as the GT1 is relatively large and heavy, making it less convenient for carrying or storing in tight spaces.

The folding mechanism is nice and rigid, but the folding point in the middle of the steering pole makes it larger than scooters like the Kaabo Mantis King GT or NAMI Klima.

Click here for the current price on the Segway GT1.
Use coupon code: FreshlyGT to save $100.

Conclusion

The Segway GT1 is a remarkable electric scooter that caters to riders seeking a combination of style, performance, and customization options. Its extensive list of pros, including a large deck, adjustable suspension, and advanced app features, make it a compelling choice.

However, it’s essential to consider the cons, such as its single motor configuration and limited battery capacity, when evaluating its suitability for your specific needs.

With an attractive reduced price and eye-catching design, the Segway GT1 offers a compelling option for electric scooter enthusiasts looking for the most refined electric scooter experience for under $2000.

Screen Shot 2023 09 07 at 2.24.47 AM

Segway GT1 Current Pricing, Discounts, and Coupons

Click here for the current price on the Segway GT1.
Use coupon code: FreshlyGT to save $100.

Click here to view all our coupons and discounts on scooters and other PEVs.

Click here to view all the safety gear that Jimmy and I use.

Facebook – Please join our Facebook group for the most up to date information.

Electric Scooter Board – Want to join the electric scooter discussion and be part of a growing community? Check out the brand new electric scooter discussion forum.

Scooter Comparison Tool

Use our Freshly Charged Scooter Comparison Tool to evaluate this scooter alongside more than 500 other scooters. Compare and organize scooters by factors such as price, top speed, battery size, weight, water-resistance rating, and more!

You may also like

Leave a Comment

We are Andrew and Jimmy, two guys who love personal electric vehicles, and we hope to share our experiences and reviews to help you find the best next PEV for your needs.

Copyright © 2023 Freshly Charged.