New INMOTION RS Electric Scooter Review – Speeds Up To 68 Mph

by Nathan Schaumann

The world of electric scooters has witnessed a remarkable transformation in recent years, and the INMOTION RS stands out as a true game-changer. Packed with a plethora of cutting-edge features and impressive performance capabilities, the INMOTION RS electric scooter offers an exhilarating and smooth ride for those seeking speed, power, and agility.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.40.04 AM

In this review, we will delve into the exciting features that make the INMOTION RS an exceptional choice for urban commuters and adventure enthusiasts alike. We will explore its smooth and powerful acceleration, advanced technology such as the Raptor 100 Amp Sine Wave Controller, and its massive 72V 40Ah battery that provides an impressive range. Additionally, we will discuss the adjustable hydraulic suspension, strong Zoom hydraulic disc brakes, and other remarkable attributes that contribute to the overall riding experience.

Furthermore, we will address some drawbacks of the INMOTION RS, such as the relatively slower height adjustment process, the need for specific tools, and certain design limitations. By the end of this review, you will have a comprehensive understanding of what sets the INMOTION RS electric scooter apart from its competitors, allowing you to make an informed decision.

Save $500 on the INMOTION RS using code: FreshlyChargedMidnight
Click here for the current price of the INMOTION RS.

What I love about the INMOTION RS

  • Smooth and powerful acceleration
  • Raptor 100 amp sine wave controller
  • Massive 72V 40Ah battery
  • Speeds of up to 68 mph
  • Adjustable hydraulic suspension
  • Strong Zoom hydraulic with thick disc brakes
  • Ability to adjust the height for different riding conditions
  • Loud motorcycle-grade horn
  • Twist throttle
  • Bright turn signals
  • 5 amp charger
  • Bluetooth app
  • IPX6 water resistance rating
  • Stable at highs speeds
  • Agile and nimble
  • Smart BMS
  • Excellent packaging job

Smooth and Powerful Acceleration

One of the standout features of the INMOTION RS electric scooter is its smooth and powerful acceleration. With its high-performance motor and advanced powertrain, this scooter effortlessly accelerates, providing an exhilarating experience from the moment you twist the throttle. Whether you’re zipping through city streets or embarking on thrilling off-road adventures, the INMOTION RS offers a seamless and responsive ride that is sure to delight you.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.38.08 AM 1

Raptor 100 Amp Sine Wave Controller

The INMOTION RS is equipped with a Raptor 100 Amp Sine Wave Controller, a technological marvel that enhances the overall performance and efficiency of the scooter. This state-of-the-art controller ensures a smooth power delivery, optimizing energy consumption while providing enhanced torque and acceleration. With the Raptor controller, riders can experience a dynamic and controlled ride, making it a joy to navigate through various terrains.

INMOTION RS updated display
Display from production units

Massive 72V 40Ah Battery

The INMOTION RS boasts a massive 72V 40Ah battery. This high-capacity battery allows riders to travel longer distances without worrying about running out of power. Whether you’re commuting to work or embarking on a weekend adventure, the INMOTION RS ensures that you can enjoy your journey without any range anxiety.

INMOTION RS massive deck with kick plate and 72V 40Ah battery

Speeds of up to 68 mph

For thrill-seekers who crave speed, the INMOTION RS does not disappoint. With its impressive top speed of up to 68 mph, this electric scooter delivers an adrenaline-pumping experience like no other. Whether you’re cruising along open roads or testing your limits on a race track, the INMOTION RS offers the speed and excitement that riders yearn for.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.28.21 AM

My top speed on the Inmotion RS is 62 mph but I may be able to reach higher speeds if I was able to ride it on a longer track and if I weighed less than 210 lbs. We test our scooters on an abandoned road and there was a researcher’s van present and pedestrian safety is our top priority. I didn’t have as much space for a speed run due to the van being present.

INMOTION RS Bright Headlight adjustable suspension stem locking mechanism dual fork design

Adjustable Hydraulic Suspension

The INMOTION RS features an adjustable hydraulic suspension system that adapts to varying riding conditions. This advanced suspension setup provides a smooth and comfortable ride, absorbing bumps and shocks effectively. Whether you’re riding on rough terrains or encountering uneven surfaces, the adjustable hydraulic suspension of the INMOTION RS ensures a stable and enjoyable journey.

INMOTION RS adjustable suspension quick disconnect motor cable

Strong Zoom Hydraulic Disc Brakes

Safety is of paramount importance, especially when riding at high speeds. The INMOTION RS addresses this concern with its strong Zoom hydraulic disc brakes paired with thick brake discs. The Zoom brake levers are different from what we have seen in the past and have a clear cutout to visually see hydraulic fluid levels.

Screen Shot 2023 05 27 at 2.45.56 AM

These high-performance brakes provide excellent stopping power, allowing riders to maintain control and confidently navigate various traffic situations. The reliable braking system ensures a safe and secure riding experience. I have not been a huge supporter of Zoom hydraulic brakes in the past but the updated ones have converted me to be a fan.

Click here for the current price on the INMOTION RS

INMOTION RS updated Zoom hydraulic Brake levers

Ability to Adjust Height for Different Riding Conditions

The INMOTION RS understands that every rider has unique preferences and requirements. With its adjustable height feature, riders can easily customize the scooter’s height and handlebars to suit their riding style and comfort. Whether you prefer a higher position for off-roading capabilities or a lower stance for increased stability at higher speeds, the ability to adjust the height enhances the overall riding experience.

Screen Shot 2023 05 27 at 3.10.13 AM

Loud Motorcycle-Grade Horn

To ensure rider safety and alert others on the road, the INMOTION RS is equipped with a loud motorcycle-grade horn. This powerful auditory signal ensures that you can effectively communicate your presence and intentions, enhancing overall safety during your ride. The loud horn of the INMOTION RS ensures that you have a commanding presence on the road.

INMOTION RS 2000 watt motor with a 4200 watt peak adjustable suspension

Twist Throttle

The INMOTION RS features a twist-throttle mechanism, providing precise control over acceleration and speed. The twist throttle design offers a natural and intuitive way to control the scooter’s power output, allowing riders to maintain a comfortable grip throughout their journey.

INMOTION RS twist Throttle

Bright Turn Signals

The INMOTION RS incorporates bright turn signals, ensuring excellent visibility for both the rider and other road users. These turn signals enhance safety by clearly indicating your intended direction, making it easier for others to anticipate your movements.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.08.20 AM

5 Amp Charger

Charging convenience is an essential aspect of electric scooters, and the INMOTION RS comes with a 5 Amp charger that facilitates quicker charging times. This high-power charger allows you to spend less time waiting and more time exploring.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=9IcBwUWQQog%3Ffeature%3Doembed

The RS can be charged with two 5 Amp chargers for a total of 10 Amps, charging the scooter in just 4.5 hours. I’m dumbfounded that scooters like the Teverun Fighter Supreme come with a 1.75 Amp charger which takes the scooter just under 23 hours to charge from empty to full.

INMOTION RS Battery Port Covers

Bluetooth App

The INMOTION RS is equipped with a Bluetooth app that connects to your smartphone, providing access to various features and real-time information. Through the app, riders can monitor battery status, track distance traveled, and adjust riding parameters to suit their preferences.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.19.43 AM

IPX6 Water Resistance Rating

The INMOTION RS boasts an IPX6 water resistance rating, ensuring that it can withstand splashes and heavy rain showers. This feature adds to the scooter’s overall durability, allowing riders to confidently venture out regardless of the weather conditions.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.55.10 AM

The battery has an even higher IPX7 water resistance rating giving you the confidence you won’t damage the most expensive component on an electric scooter.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.54.12 AM

Smart BMS

The Inmotion RS comes equipped with a smart BMS and I would like all PEVs to have them.

Smart BMS systems provide advanced monitoring and control capabilities, allowing for more precise and accurate management of battery performance. With real-time cell monitoring, voltage and temperature control, and state-of-charge estimation, Smart BMS systems can optimize charging and discharging processes, leading to improved efficiency, longer battery life, and enhanced overall performance.

INMOTION RS from the rear turn signal indicators adjustable suspension zoom hydraulic brakes height

Smart BMS systems offer increased safety features and protection mechanisms. They incorporate sophisticated algorithms and sensors that detect and prevent potentially dangerous situations, such as overcharging, over-discharging, and thermal runaway. This ensures a higher level of safety for the battery pack and the surrounding environment.

Screen Shot 2023 05 27 at 3.14.12 AM

Save $500 on the INMOTION RS using code: FreshlyChargedMidnight
Click here for the current price of the INMOTION RS.

What I hate about the INMOTION RS

  • Height adjusting is not super quick without the right tools
  • The steering pole clamp could be more robust
  • Not super portable
  • Heavy
  • Kickstand is tiny
  • Turn signal indicators in the rear are blocked by wires and swing arms.
  • Headlight needs a wider spread

Despite its many remarkable features, the INMOTION RS does have a few drawbacks worth considering.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.41.28 AM

Firstly, the height adjustment process can be time consuming and requires specific tools. Adjusting the scooter’s height may be challenging without the necessary equipment, which can inconvenience riders who frequently need to make adjustments.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.13.12 AM

Secondly, while the overall build quality of the INMOTION RS is commendable, I have concerns about the strength of the steering pole clamp over time. A more robust design in this area would instill more confidence that you won’t have issues when traveling at speeds of up to 68mph. I did not experience any issues but I would like for it to be improved in the future.

INMOTION RS Adjustable Swingarms Motor Quick Disconnect Suspension battery tire hugger

Furthermore, the INMOTION RS is not the most portable option on the market due to its 128 lb weight and not locking into itself when folded. The scooter’s robust construction and powerful components contribute to its durability and performance but also make it relatively heavy to carry for extended periods or long distances.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.16.50 AM

Another drawback is the relatively small kickstand, which may not provide the desired stability when parking the scooter on uneven surfaces or inclines. Users may need to take extra precautions to ensure the scooter remains upright and secure.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.46.30 AM

The headlight is bright but the throw is narrow. I would like Inmotion to change the headlight or adjust the lens to widen the beam of light.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.03.26 AM

Lastly, the turn signal indicators in the rear can be partially blocked by wires and swing arms, limiting their visibility to other road users during the day. This issue could be addressed through improved placement or design adjustments.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 1.14.28 AM

Click here for the current price on the INMOTION RS

Final Thoughts

The INMOTION RS electric scooter offers an exceptional riding experience with its smooth and powerful acceleration, advanced technology, and impressive range. With features like adjustable hydraulic suspension, strong disc brakes, and intuitive controls, the INMOTION RS delivers a thrilling and agile ride for adventure seekers.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.42.18 AM

While it does have some minor drawbacks such as slower height adjustment, the need for specific tools, and limitations in portability and design, the INMOTION RS remains a standout choice for riders who prioritize performance and an exhilarating ride.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.51.03 AM

With its remarkable features and attention to detail, the INMOTION RS sets a new standard for electric scooters, pushing the boundaries of what is possible and redefining the future of urban mobility.

Screen Shot 2023 05 30 at 12.40.39 AM

INMOTION RS Electric Scooter Coupon and Discount Codes

Save $500 on the INMOTION RS using code: FreshlyChargedMidnight
Click here for the current price of the INMOTION RS.

Click here to view all our coupons and discounts on scooters and other PEVs.

Click here to view all the safety gear that Jimmy and I use.

Facebook – Please join our Facebook group for the most up to date information.

Electric Scooter Board – Want to join the electric scooter discussion and be part of a growing community? Check out the brand new electric scooter discussion forum.

If you enjoyed this review, check out some other comparable escooters that we have reviewed:

NAMI BURN-E 2 MAX – Hyper scooter with similiar specs and adjustable suspension.

Bronco Xtreme 11 Sport – Another electric scooter with sine wave controllers.

Kaabo Wolf King GT– The fastest Kaabo Scooter with sine wave controllers.

Scooter Comparison Tool

Use our Freshly Charged Scooter Comparison Tool to evaluate this scooter alongside more than 500 other scooters. Compare and organize scooters by factors such as price, top speed, battery size, weight, water-resistance rating, and more!

You may also like

Leave a Comment

We are Andrew and Jimmy, two guys who love personal electric vehicles, and we hope to share our experiences and reviews to help you find the best next PEV for your needs.

Copyright © 2023 Freshly Charged.